Bring the party from home with cocktail masterclasses!

Hosting catchup drinks over Zoom while isolating? Bring it to a whole new level with the launch of a series of cocktail masterclasses hosted by some of Perth’s top bartenders!

By
Dylan Urquhart
on
April 22, 2020
Category:
Eat & Drink
Tags:

Looking for a new way to spice up Friday night Zoom and Skype catch-ups with your friends?

Break out the cocktails in a series of livestreamed masterclasses for a new spin for your Skyped drinks!

A series of masterclasses launched online earlier this month by Simply Cocktails, Home Five O'Clock-tails is a series of live and pre-recorded classes are hosted by professional bartenders.

The fairly short classes kick off at 3pm (WA time) from the start of April right through to the end of June.

Home Five of Clock-tails is aimed at supporting bar staff who have lost their employment due to the widespread closure of venues, pubs and clubs, with more than 100 bartenders recruited across Australia to contribute recipes and videos.

Among the hosts are bartenders from Perth institutions including Mechanic's Institute, W Churchill and Who's Your Mumma.

The pre-recorded classes will be going up on the Facebook page every day until the end of June.

On Tuesday, April 7, Danilo Migliorini from Eau di Vie Sydney livestreamed how to put together the perfect Tia Maria Espresso Quarantini in the second of more than two dozen live events.

More than just the drink itself, which takes a minute at most to ship up, he gives the history of the drink, how the ingredients are made, as well the secrets to making it bang on perfect every time.

Delivered with a fun and relaxed flavour, Danila signed off the livestream with a playful, “Voila, Tia Maria Espresso Martini, sexy like you! Ciao!”

Even if this week’s drink is not your flavour, all the past and upcoming videos can be watched through the Simply Cocktails Facebook page. So why not make a night of it and everyone can try out their favourites!

Check out the list below for the full schedule of livestreamed classes and pick your favourite:

• Tuesday, April 14: Tom Collins

• Friday, April 17: Black barrel Daiquiri

• Tuesday, April 20: Passoda & Passoa Mule

• Friday, April 24: French Mule

• Tuesday, April 28: Disaronno Sour

• Friday, May 1: Paloma

• Tuesday, May 5: Highball

• Friday, May 8: Hot Toddy

• Tuesday, May 12: Copa

• Friday, May 15: Chaud

• Tuesday, May 19: Fiorente Spritz

• Tuesday, May 25: Gin & Tonic

• Friday, May 29: St Remy Mule

• Tuesday, June 2: Naked Sour

• Friday, June 5: V & T

• Tuesday, June 9: Licor 43 Smoothie

• Friday, June 12: Metaxa Spritz

• Tuesday, June 16: Irish Coffee

• Friday, June 19: Boilermaker

• Tuesday, June 22: Opal Mule

• Friday, June 26: Peated highball

• Tuesday, June 30: Old Fashioned

Dylan Urquhart

Local Perth enthusiast, impromptu tour guide, small bar discoverer.